Lionel Messi has been nominated for the 2023 UEFA Player of the Year award alongside Manchester City duo Kevin de Bruyne and Erling Haaland.

In the 12-year history of the award, Messi has won it twice, both times while Barcelona was the European champion. Last year, Man City took home the Champions League championship.

Messi was a standout player for Paris and won his second Ligue 1 championship at the end of the season, but it was his performances for Argentina in the FIFA World Cup that garnered the most attention.

Messi, a legend of his time, won the Golden Ball for best overall player at the finals while scoring seven goals to become the first Argentine to win the World Cup since Diego Maradona. He reached 100 international goals in March, becoming just the third player in history to do so.

The Inter Miami captain scored 16 goals and provided 16 assists in Ligue 1, whilst also winning the UEFA Champions League goal of the season.

At the Champions League draw on August 31 in Monaco, the winners will be revealed.

Sign Up Bonus

200 GHS

Get a bonus when you sign up to Betway.

Welcome Bonus

550 GHS

Double your initial deposit up to 550 GHS.

Welcome Bonus

750 GHS

Double your initial deposit up to 750 GHS.

Saturday, March 2nd
Sunday, March 3rd
Monday, March 4th
Saturday, March 9th
Sunday, March 10th
Monday, March 11th

Best Betting Sites in Ghana

View all
View all